Hello world! Zero 2 Hero is born!

Photo by GiantTristan of Nikonians.org

Photo by GiantTristan of Nikonians.org

To put it simply: this blog is just a ‘journal’ for me to document and keep track of my progress in my goal to change my life. I spent most of my life so far (I turned 30 a few months ago) just existing, and being content to simply exist. I spent most of my twenties spinning my wheels, not getting anywhere, and not doing anything MORE to change it. Without getting too personal on here, I can say that I didn’t have a very high opinion of myself and a handful of other factors helped contribute to my lack of development over my life to date. I went to art school right out of high school and got an AA degree in 2004. I spent about 6 months going on interviews, with companies such as Mackie instruments and Pop! web design, and didn’t land any jobs after the interviews. So, I went to work for myself. I spent the next six years finding many ways to fail as an entrepreneur (internet marketing, eBay/Amazon businesses, article marketing (even tried ‘Bum Marketing’ once haha), selling other peoples digital products via Clickbank, affiliate marketing, creating and selling private label rights products, web designer and developer, graphic designer, and so on) and spent the last couple years unemployed and in debt. I currently live in a low-income government subsidized apartment and survive on food stamps.

My biggest issues I know have been those of a mental and emotional variety and that started to change not long after my 30th birthday. It itself was actually a very depressing event as I reflected on just how pathetic and pointless my life had become and then that “something” happened. The only way I can describe it is that a “spark” happened inside myself and ignited a fire, a thirst to be more than I am, to be better than I am. A desire for knowledge that I never had before has taken me over. And the most amazing thing occurred to me that I never truly believed before now: I can, I CAN be and do ANYTHING I want… if I work hard and dedicate myself to that goal or undertaking.

And that is what I have decided to do, to go back to college eventually if I can figure out how to pay for it or in the mean time be an independent learner and educate myself if I have to. My ultimate educational goal for now is to attend the University of Washington and get into the Computer Science and Engineering program as I want to become a professional in the industries of the internet/web and mobile. I also plan to take some business courses to learn how to run and operate a business successfully as trying to invent the way myself didn’t work (and I admittedly lacked the drive, motivation and dedication to make it work before).

So to end this first post I want to say that I also want to help others find free education and try to help them improve their lives as I am trying to do to mine. My journey is just beginning and like an iceberg protruding from the sea my potential has yet to be revealed. I am finally ready to step up and am not afraid to succeed.

I realized that if I and anyone reading this just dedicate yourself to something, you will achieve everything you want to.

It’s simple.

Leave a Reply

